Golden Globes 2021: The One Where Hollywood Dressed up to Stay Home

Related Article
Pop Culture
The Most Memorable Moments of the 78th Annual Golden Globes
Read Article

Red carpet or not, Hollywood royalty can always be counted on to put on a show of exquisite couture, even if it is only to sit at home and tune in to an uber-fancy video conference – which is (sort of) what the Golden Globes 2021 were really like. Last night, the virtual attendees of the “hybrid” Golden Globes 2021 awards ceremony – which was hosted on two separate coasts by comedians Tina Fey and Amy Poehler – looked every bit as stunning as the few who did get to walk the red carpet either in New York or Los Angeles. In fact, some of the most spectacular and talked-about looks from the Golden Globes 2021 were donned thousands of miles away from the red carpet, as celebrities tuned in from around the world.

Speaking of the most stunning looks from the night, Anya Taylor Joy – who was awarded the Golden Globe for ‘Best Performance by an Actress in a Limited Television Series’ for her role in Queen’s Gambit – dazzled in a custom-made green Dior dress and a matching coat. The first-time attendee completed the look with precious Tiffany and Co. jewelry. Emma Corrin – who won her first Golden Globe for her portrayal of the late Princess Diana in the hit Netflix favorite series, The Crown – (virtually) accepted the award in a remarkable custom-made black velvet Miu Miu gown. The embellished Miu Miu number with its enormous collar (inspired by Pierrot clowns) and exaggerated shoulders can only be regarded as a nod to Corrin’s onscreen character’s style back in the 80s. Meanwhile, Corrin’s co-star Gillian Anderson joined the fun from Prague in an exceptional Dior gown.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Law Roach (@luxurylaw)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Harry Lambert (@harry_lambert)

Elle Fanning tuned in from London in a gorgeous custom silky pastel blue Gucci gown, and Rosamund Pike accepted her ‘Best Actress in a Motion Picture’ award for her performance in I Care a Lot in a bespoke red Molly Goddard gown. Bridgerton’s Mrs. Whistledown, a.k.a. Nicola Coughlan, also donned a Molly Goddard number for the awards night. Lily Collins channeled Emily as she stayed in wearing a bold asymmetrical cutout Saint Laurent dress.

Starved for red carpet style? Scroll down to discover the best celebrity outfits from Golden Globes 2021.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Elle Fanning (@ellefanning)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Nicole Kidman (@nicolekidman)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by John Mumblo (@johnmumblo)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Gillian Anderson (@gilliana)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Alexandra Mandelkorn (@mandelkorn)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Oscar de la Renta (@oscardelarenta)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Mariel Haenn (@marielhaenn)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Isla Fisher (@islafisher)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Shira Haas (@shirahaas)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Kaley Cuoco (@kaleycuoco)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Golden Globes (@goldenglobes)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Jane Fonda (@janefonda)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Oscar de la Renta (@oscardelarenta)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by VIOLA DAVIS (@violadavis)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Sofia Carson (@sofiacarson)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Jamie Lee Curtis (@curtisleejamie)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Salma Hayek Pinault (@salmahayek)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by SLEEK Jamaica Media (@sleekjamaica)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Nicola Coughlan (@nicolacoughlan)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Regina King (@iamreginaking)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by rebecca grice (@thegriceisright)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Rosamund Pike (@mspike)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Kate Hudson (@katehudson)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Eiza (@eizagonzalez)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Laura Dern (@lauradern)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Jennifer Austin (@jlynnstyle18)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Karla Welch (@karlawelchstylist)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Monique Lhuillier (@moniquelhuillier)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Just Jared (@justjared)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Cristina Ehrlich (@cristinaehrlich)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Andra Day (@andradaymusic)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Just Jared (@justjared)

Be in the know.
Every day, receive Savoir Flair's top articles straight to your computer or smartphone. It's never been easier to stay up-to-date on the latest fashion, beauty, and lifestyle stories.
Click to get the latest news on your device
You can stop notifications at any time.
Unsubscribe from our notifications
Click to unsubscribe from notifications on this device.
Be in the know.
Every day, receive Savoir Flair's top articles straight to your computer or smartphone. It's never been easier to stay up-to-date on the latest fashion, beauty, and lifestyle stories.
Connect using Facebook Messenger